Realization

I didn’t realize this until recently, when the other blog that I write for started getting some active use. I am not the only blogger there, so several of us blog about different topics, etc. We each have access to post, but can only accept/deny comments on our own posts. I have yet to block/deny someone’s post, unless it’s obviously spam (I hate those).

Over the past couple of days, I’ve gone on that blog to check for comments on my most recent post. I had a couple yesterday and saw that there were several outstanding. I read through the comments, and they were really valid points. Some were quite critical of the issue, blogger, commenters, but generally were all in good taste and not in violation of the TOS. I figured the other bloggers hadn’t gotten to approving the comments.

I go back today and find that there are at least five more comments that haven’t been posted. Then I notice some in the “trash” that are valid comments, that were simply discarded for one reason or another. I find that, interesting isn’t the word, but puzzling.

I’m not a fan of criticism, unless it’s positive of course, but having someone come out and say what they mean, even if it isn’t the nicest way possible can be refreshing (yet infuriating at the same time.) I appreciate that people comment on my blog, and my posts on the other blog. I’ve even posted my response to an error made. No big deal, at least the person pointing it out knew that I read it and took it into consideration. I guess it bothers me, and it really shouldn’t, that other people writing for the same blog I do will simply not post a comment because they don’t agree with it, or can’t be bothered to check for them, since they are moderated.

What are your thoughts?

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Realization

  1. Christine Smith says:

    I think you are absolutely correct and I applaud you for posting what you did !!! I have made comments on Sophia’s posts only to have them ignored/discarded and I will no longer comment on or read her posts. Personally I think it is an issue Mike Huber should be involved in if it is as you say it is, because it will cause everyone frustration with the whole Colonie Blog.

    • Kari says:

      Sophia actually commented on the post and indicated she wasn’t sure how to use the approval process. I sent her an email and walked her through it, and it looks like they’re approved. Yay! 🙂 Thanks for the comment too! I thought more people would say something to the effect of they understood now, but oh well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

