Hot Under the Collar?

As someone who works for the state, and has had issues with the temperature controls, because of the layout of our offices, I found this article very  interesting.

What’s more is that they interviewed people in the basement, where it’s naturally cooler, albeit the print shop, and cleaning crews who walk from floor to floor, and don’t have consistent temperatures on a daily basis, to the cook over a hot grill during his work hours.  They didn’t bother to talk with anyone who can’t make the changes these folks have made.

I work for a unit where we are not allowed to wear shorts, even on casual days.  We had to file requests to have any appliances outside our computers in our area.  Seriously.  I had to put in writing a request to have my small fan, that takes less wattage to run than a standard 60 watt light bulb, but lamps aren’t tagged.

Our floor is one that has a vary of temperatures.  I am lucky to work on the cooler side of the building.  In the winter it’s quite cold, and we have to wear layers of clothes & fingerless gloves at times.  I don’t mind that so much, because you can always put on more clothes.  The summer months aren’t so forgiving.  You can’t take off more clothes to stay cool.  So, for someone like me who sweats at the mere glance of 80 degrees and over 40% humidity, it’s quite uncomfortable.  I’m happy to have my fan.

My coworkers on the other side of the building aren’t so lucky.  The sun shines in the windows, and heats the area to an unbearable temperature.  They too had to vie for fans, as the median temperature there is nearly 85 degrees (nearly 10 degrees hotter than it is on my side).  I feel bad for the assistance dog that has to work on that side.  She has got to feel the heat, and doesn’t have the luxury of taking off her coat!  So, everyone over there seems to have a fan approved.  I’m wondering if it’s going to get hotter since they turned off the AC.

The AC in my house wasn’t working properly over the past couple of days, and I’m a proponent of trying to maintain open windows & fans, even when it’s 80 outside, but the 90s is a little hard to bear.  When we realized the condenser wasn’t working, we had to get someone out to fix it.  It’s still a little wonky, but it’s cooling.  We hope we don’t have to use it all summer long, as it’s not usually in the 90s.  But, with my house only three floors, it was unbearable, even with all windows open, air circulating with the help of fans.  I cannot imagine what it will be like up here on the 16th floor, no circulation, no way to open windows, and one small fan in my small area.

I guess I have to be thankful for that, and my Old Navy credit card, so I can stock up on capris this season, no matter how silly they may look on me.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

