Rule of Three

I’ve wondered why so many things are classified as a “rule of three.”  Three  strikes & you’re out, bad things come in three’s, etc. (I understand where   strikes come from, just needed another example).  I’ve tried applying the  rule of threes to my life on several occasions, mostly because it helps me  feel good about something good happening after a series of bad things.  This year has been a quick rule of threes for me.  In five months, I’ve got  the three bads already.  January was uneventful – we moved into the new house  (good). February was my diagnosis (bad). March my other grandmother died  (bad). April, why can’t I remember April?  Probably because I cracked my  skull in a car accident in May (bad).  So, those are the three bads, and one  good.  So if the rule applies, then I’m in for more good.  I can say that  getting the furniture from home was part good and part bad, as we now have a  TON of boxes to go through, so that’s a wash & doesn’t count.  So, do you believe in the rule of three, good things come to those who wait,   karma (ran over your dogma – ha ha)?  Does it apply to you?  I’m still waiting for this good stuff!

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rule of Three

  1. KatieBucks says:

    Kari – I’m not sure I believe in the rule of three or karma or whatever, but I too live with chronic pain, and whenever that or anything else is getting me down I try to remind myself of how lucky I am and of all the small things that make my life wonderful. (Check out 1000 Awesome Things for a reminder of the small joys in life.)

    For example, just the fact that I don’t have to worry about where my next meal will come from or whether I will have clean water to drink or a place to sleep at night (unlike a large percentage of people in this world) is a great reason to be thankful for my life. Plus, I have been blessed a wonderful family and fantastic friends. I have found a great group where I can be involved in shows when I want to with people who are supportive and wonderful and don’t judge me for being who I am.

    There are lots of other awesome things about my life that I could list, but I all I really wanted to say was that whenever you get down about the bad things, just remind yourself of the good parts of your life and how lucky you are to have those.

    I’m not trying to sound preachy or naively optimistic – I have had some pretty crap things happen in my life too, as I’m sure most people have. And we all get a little depressed sometimes, but that’s why sometimes we need a reminder of how great life can be. Good things are happening to us all the time; we just might not notice them as much as the bad.

    But anyway, I’m sure there are many good things in store for you, Kari, and I hope they come to you soon. In the meantime, I think you are a fabulous person and am very glad that you have been involved with Earnest – it has been great hanging out with you backstage! You will have to come out with use sometime this weekend and have some FUN! 😀

Leave a Reply

