Paterson Will Put Furlough in Next Budget Extender

By JIMMY VIELKIND in Capital Confidential blog.
First published in print:Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Gov. David Paterson just said he will include a provision for a one-day-a-week furlough in the budget extender he submits later this week to state legislators.

Paterson made the commitment at a luncheon sponsored by DC37, the union representing municipal workers in New York City. Paterson said the furlough will not apply to management-confidential employees, who have had scheduled raises withheld in the past two years.

Paterson has been threatening a furlough since last month, as the state has lumbered along without a complete spending plan in place. Legislators are instead passing emergency appropriations bills ā€” which Paterson has unilateral power to draft and submit ā€” to support government in a bare-bones form.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Personal, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

