Look for Updates Throughout the Day (NYS Furlough/Pay Freeze)

I’ll be updating throughout the day regarding the possibility of furloughs and pay freezes for NYS employees (specifically PEF & CSEA union members).  I am going to try to start with the articles written last week when the furlough was initially proposed, and how the news has progressed through the week.

Then I will be providing the names of the senators and assemblymen/women who are voting for, or are in support of, furloughs, freezes, and penalizing the state employees for their lack of work passing the NYS budget in a timely manner.

Feel free to comment if this is affecting you, what your opinion is, and why.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Opinion, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Look for Updates Throughout the Day (NYS Furlough/Pay Freeze)

  1. Sara says:

    I have a hard time feeling sorry for people who aren’t getting their “automatic” raises (that sounds ugly, and it is not meant to be). I work for a small business and the last substantial raise I got was 5 years ago…and I have to provide my own health insurance which is VERY substantial.

    • Kari says:

      One thing to consider that if someone makes $50,000/year, the 4% equates to $2000 for the year, making the gain per month, minus taxes, dues, insurance, etc. about $50.

      Another thing to consider is that the previous annual raise was 3%, and this governor approved the 4% during the last budget period. At that time he could have had better communication & negotiation with the unions regarding the budget considerations, but there was no discussion on it at the time, it simply passed through.

      No one’s fault but the governor accepting the contract as proposed. Now he wants to take it back, and unfortunately that’s illegal now. I wish he would have looked at the budget at the time, and figured out that it might be in the best interest of the state to ask the unions to lower or fore-go (I think he asked to fore-go at some point), but he did not at the time (as I recall. I’d have to research from the last contract negotiation period.)

  2. Faye says:

    While i can understand the prior commenter’s stance, i must make something clear.

    It’s not like we (that is, NYS Employees) are asking for something “above and beyond,” we are only asking that the Governor honor the contract. If you don’t have a contract with your employer that would allow you to receive a cost-of-living raise, or health benefits, that is a choice you made when you selected to work for them. The choice we made was to work for NYS. Anyone could have made either choice.

  3. Ann says:

    The governor has filled the media with lies and misrepresentations. He hasn’t said that in the past NYS government workers have had contracts with no raises. He has lied when he said the unions have offered no help. Has he talked about the private contractors that did get their raises? He did not ask them to open their contracts.
    Most state workers are not over paid. In fact we make less money across the board than people in the private sector. Some employees, especially those with one income in urban areas don’t make enough money to survive.
    No one is arguing that these are tough economic times, but why should the people who work to provide services for the state and are taxpayers bear the burden of the recovery?

Leave a Reply

