Lock Downs Way Too Close To Home

Lock down procedures in effect at RPI campus until further notice.

**UPDATE** Troy Mayor Harry Tutunjian thinks the lock down caused more panic than help.  He’s a tool!!  Link Here

I’m trying to remember the date, but I’m not certain, regardless… About 3-4 years ago (this time of year), I was working for a pharmaceutical company and was sitting at work when my boyfriend called me and asked if I heard the news. I was busy that day, and hadn’t had a chance to check the Times Union online. I did see something about RPI briefly as I worked, but didn’t have the chance to read it. When he mentioned it, I got on the page and read the story quickly. RPI was in a pseudo-lock down because a student was found dead on campus. Security did not release any details to the news media, but because we have friends who work on campus, we tend to get information before it’s released. That day, my friend took his own life in a place where he spent his college years, and we hope was a place of comfort for him, despite the circumstance.

Shortly thereafter the Virginia Tech shootings happened, lock down’s became nearly mandatory, and life went on. There have been numerous issues over the past few years, and I am happy that schools have initiated lock down procedures to help keep their students and staff safe. What I don’t like is hearing about a lock down at a school where I know several people, and in a neighborhood where I lived only four months ago, due to a robbery taking place around the corner from where I lived. Now the campus is on lock down again, and the man who robbed the check cashing establishment is still on the loose. The story continues to develop and I am keeping my eye on the news.

This is where I’m happy we have Twitter to be sure that people we care about are ok. I appreciate the updates from the site, as the news doesn’t usually get the updated information until well after the events have ended. So, I’m going to ignore the rules this one time, and keep track of my Twitter friends on campus, and hope that everything turns out well, and that no one is shot or killed during this situation.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

