My 38th Year

I’ve noticed my readership has gone WAY DOWN. Hmm, could it be that I disappeared for a week or so?  I’d have to say yes!  I’m being honest when I say it’s quite nice to simply work each day, and go home with no worries.  Since March 24, that’s been my life, and I’ve loved every minute of it.

It's all relative...

So, this begins my 38th year on Earth.  Some think that makes me 38 years old, but no, it makes me 37, because I’m counting the day of birth as year zero.  So what have I accomplished this past year?  What did the year bring? Was it better than the 36th year?  What should I do differently?  Well, let’s start at this time last year…fazing out memory sequence> So, I was less than happy about turning 36 than any normal year simply because when I was younger it seemed all of the celebrities I liked were “36.”  Thirty-six means nothing.  Thirty-five was a change in status, I went from the 25-34 age group on most surveys.  I referred to 36 as the last time I was a square root (my bf & I tend to make mathematical jokes surrounding our birthdays.)  This year I celebrated another prime, and will relish, as my next prime won’t come for four years, and it’s been six years since my last prime.  This makes me a unique, delicate flower – just like the rest of the population.  HAH!

So, getting back to it.  Last year at this time I was shocked to find that I gained 25 pounds in a 60 day period.  I was taking a different medication, that we hoped would help with various aspects of life, but it caused weight gain, and we did not want that, so I came off of it immediately, and started back on the normal happy Prozac again.  Since then, I’ve been trying to kill that 25 pounds, but it’s hanging on for dear life.  What a pain in the butt!

So, I started looking at my health.  I had my first mammogram and my doctor took me off of birth control due to health concerns (cancer risk).  This gave me pause.  So, I started looking into weight loss surgery.  I did research, took classes, met with nutritionists & dieticians, even met the doctor.  This lasted several months.  During the summer, while trying to lose weight to get to the 10% required, I found that there are several issues blocking my ability to lose the weight, one primary issue is my emotional state, but that’s a different story.

Regardless, I decided to occupy myself with alternate forms of distraction.  I auditioned for my first play in over 15 years (almost 20 years at the time).  I didn’t know a single person in the room.  My friend who was supposed to come along for moral support wasn’t there, so I did this audition all by myself.  I got the part.  As a matter of fact, I got two parts.  The rest of the summer was filled with rehearsals for the two short plays I was working on, trying to remember lines & how to act (hah).  I also started doing outlines of a story I’d been trying to write for a couple of years now, to complete during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November.  I worked, rehearsed, wrote, wash, rinse, repeat!

During the summer I found out some disturbing news about my family back home.  I started questioning my parents responsibility factor, and things that no child should have to question in their life.  This caused some major stress, and still exists, but will soon be over.  Once this problem was resolved and I felt good about how things were going, albeit disappointed in the way they were handled, I faced a loss that I was expecting, but wasn’t quite ready to handle.

In late August, my grandmother (dad’s mom) passed away.  It wasn’t simply that she died, but that my dad called me at work on Friday and told me to get to Kansas as soon as possible.  Me frantically trying to find a flight on Saturday, and the funds to pay for it.  I learned that last minute flight plans cost out the ass!  But I made the arrangements, and was able to get to Kansas.  During the trip, I hoped that I would make it there in time to see my grandmother one last time to say good bye, as I was not able to do so when my grandfather passed suddenly in 1997.  Everything was going as scheduled.  I was early for my flight into Wichita, and ready for the 45 minute trip to the hospital.  I got off the plane and called my friend who was giving me a ride, as I was early and wanted to let her know.  I called my mother, but got the voice mail.  I wanted to let them know I was finally there.  As I walked down the concourse to get my luggage, my sister called.  My grandmother passed as I was calling her on the phone when I landed.  I was on Kansas soil for 30 seconds, 45 minutes away, waited and hoped that she would last that short amount of time.  Fate, however, had different plans, and played what I thought was a cruel joke at the time.  I’m still bitter.

So, that was a week in August that I really didn’t want to use as vacation, but was forced to do so.  I only wanted to be there for the time I needed, but I had to help plan the funeral, wake, and burial.  We decided to do it mid-week, so people could travel.  I really wanted to leave right after, but ended up staying longer than anticipated.  In hind sight, I should have left the day after the funeral.

Thus started the stressful end of the year antics.  The play went well, but then I agreed to help backstage with several other productions to keep myself busy.  Good choice, until I joined my gym and started personal training four times a week.  That’s when things got dicey.  Do I cut out on the gym, or the show both of which I’ve already committed to.  So, tough decisions ensued making my life a little more stressful.

We started moving into the new house in January, so that contributed to the stress.  Having to go home to see boxes that you KNOW need to be dealt with, and stuff that needs to be put away/organized/sold, whatever is more stressful than one thinks.  When you’re like me, and have just so much energy to expend each day, it’s very difficult to make the choices to do one thing over another, when both need done.  Something has got to give.

Finally the shows, holidays, stress ended.  By February I was ready for a hiatus.  I participated in one more show, lost my original trainer, but was ready to be less busy.

I started writing this blog in January/February, and learned that I need to write a lot more to keep my readership up (well duh!).  Then in March I started writing for the Colonie blog on the Times Union site.  I was gung-ho the first week, then things wound down and I haven’t had a chance to follow-up on the angle I wanted to explore.  That’s ok though, because I will be making plans to work on those angles, to provide the residents more information on the things one can see/do in Colonie.  I’m still hyped about it, but just needed a break from the political.

In February I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, which is what this blog is intended to discuss, so that’s a topic I’ll be focusing on in the future, along with some other areas that I have personal experience with.

Then in March, my other grandmother (mom’s mom) died.  There wasn’t a funeral, as she chose to be cremated, but drama ensued regarding a memorial service, and when that’s going to be held.  Who wants to do it?  When am I coming home?  Am I coming home?  At least things slowed down enough for me to take a breath the week before my birthday.  I figured I would start this year more fresh and ready to tackle things.

I’m going to tackle writing again (fiction).  I’m going to keep blogging.  I’m trying my hand at stage managing a production.  My personal training ends, so I’m going to challenge myself to get to the gym for classes.  Make sure I’m eating the right foods, and doing all I can to be pain free for as long as I can.  Enjoy life this summer!  I’m hoping not to stress out too much, but you never know.  I need to be prepared for anything.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My 38th Year

  1. Carla says:

    Kari, This is so awesome. Thank you for doing this. I see myself in a lot of what you wrote. It’s comforting. =)

    • Kari says:

      Thanks. Yeah, it was a long year, and a LOT happened. I figured it would be a good thing to get it down. I wish I did this for each year, this way I’d be able to look back and remember. I suppose I could do one of those collages, but I don’t have all my photos here, besides there’s this time & patience.

      Can you imagine what it’ll be like next year!? Still saving my pennies to come to Texas next summer. I can’t give up on the possibility of a 20 year reunion, even though the “planning” has stalled somewhat. 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    I am glad you are writing. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

