Is That Appropriate At Work?

I'm really holding back here!

Maybe I’m PMSing, but I’m in a really piss poor mood today.  I wake up to the cats being annoying, I’ve got a headache that feels like the beginning of a sinus infection, and well, yeah, I’m PMSing (WHAT OF IT?!)

Regardless, I’m feeling a little put out today, which is my own problem, so I’m trying not to take it out on anyone.  I came to work, plugged in my headphones to my Pandora radio, and start listening to my new age ambient music to help me enhance my calm.  Besides, it drowns out the gossip that happens in my office on a daily basis.  I’m usually pretty calm about things in the office, unless I’m in a “mood.”  People who enjoy the “How Kari’s World Turns” comments on Facebook understand where I’m coming from, as I have cut down on the bitching quite a bit, well except today.

Which brings to question if one of the several annoyances I’m experiencing is valid, as I’m not certain if it is appropriate at work.  Keep reading, because it’s not about me being a brat!

Back Story: Last week I started contributing to The Colonie Blog in the Times Union.  I figured I’d stay away from the political arena, as I’m new to town, and wanted to focus more on some of the opportunities that I have found as a new resident.  Early this week I read something about the new tower that is being proposed on the property of Loudonville Presbyterian Church that will contain a cell reception antennae.  The tower is close to Loudonville Elementary School, but within the FAA regulations.  However, some the town residents are not happy about the addition to the landscape near the school many of their children attend.

As a former journalism student, I appreciate reading an impartial view of an issue.  I’m an educator as well, so I try not to impose my opinion on someone about something in an arena that is outside my personal blog.  The Times Union is quite public, and as a blogger for Colonie, I feel it is my responsibility to give the public information about what is going on in the town, townships, hamlets within the large area of Colonie.

That being said, I’ve been writing about the cell tower issue, and providing information for the readers to make their own assessments, form an opinion, and give them the chance to voice this opinion on the blog comments.  I’m quite happy to do this without imposing my opinion.  My coworkers are aware that I am involved in writing for this blog, but I’m not sure they truly understand the concept of being in the public eye, as one of the voices of a community, especially a new voice.

I come to work today, plug in my headphones, and begin to read the news updates about the Health Care Reform bill having to go back to the House for a vote, and prepare myself to understand that concept a little more.  I unplug for a minute to go order some lunch, as we do on occasion in the office.  As soon as I come back to my desk I am approached by a coworker to sign a petition against the cell tower.  Note that I have not attended any of the meetings, I have not asked any questions, I simply pass on the information that is reported about the meetings and some of the issues that have been brought up regarding the issue.

I tell my coworker that I do not want to sign the petition.  She starts giving me attitude.  I explain that I prefer not to sign the petition because I am remaining impartial, and that petition will go public.  If my name is on it I may be seen as someone taking a position when I don’t feel it is appropriate.  I reiterate that I do not live in Loudonville, and thus I don’t feel it is for me to voice my opinion on an issue that is not my community.  She gets snippy and says, “Well, A. signed it and he doesn’t live in Loudonville.”  Really?  She went there?  Give me an EFFING break!  What are we, in high school?

Well, all the popular kids did this, so I’m mad that you won’t and now I’m going to give you attitude.

What I find ironic (maybe more coincidental – I like the term ironic), is that I just penned a letter to my Congressman urging him not to cave to the GOP pressure to change his vote on the HR 3590, and to continue to be a voice of his constituents; not to further his personal agenda because of the possibility that his support of the bill may not be the most popular thing to do.

Standing up for what I believe, and what I think is best to serve those people who read The Colonie Blog, is to remain impartial.  By doing so, I do have to watch what I say, what I support, and be able to justify my actions.  I believe that I understand what it is to be in the public eye, even though it may be a small population.  I do not feel it is in my, or their, best interest to listen to me spout my personal opinion on what is supposed to be an informational blog, and not an opinionated personal blog.  That’s what this one is for!

So, if people choose to read The Colonie Blog to get the Colonie information, then come here to read my personal beliefs, and information, that’s their choice.  I’m not shoving it down their throat, and I stand firm on that.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Moody, Opinion, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is That Appropriate At Work?

  1. Roz says:

    Go Kari! And use those PMS feelings to your advantage. I hope that you print a copy of this blog and give it to your snotty little co-worker. Should she even be doing this at work?

    • Kari says:

      That’s the one thing I need to check from the APPMs before I ask a supervisor. I suppose I could claim “hostile work environment” but I’m not going to go there. Not unless it REALLY becomes hostile.

      Thanks Roz!

  2. Christine says:

    Sorry to hear you are having one of those days ! Glad to hear you stood up for your position on the petition ! Colonie can be a very politically divided place to live . It is nice to have an impartial voice in the blogosphere (I have no idea how to spell that). Keep up the good work !

    • Kari says:

      Thanks! And I love the term blogosphere! It’s actually pretty appropriate. I make fun of the internet sometimes by referring to it as the intartubes. It’s a nice little joke with my friends & I sometimes. 🙂

  3. JMB says:

    Well Kari, I am on your side. It sounds like a so-called grown up form of bullying is ensuing. Stand your ground and if she doesn’t like it, T O U G H!

Leave a Reply

