Pain Threshhold Exceeded

Fibromyalgia

Imagine what this must feel like.

One of the original purposes of this blog was to talk about my struggles with Fibromyalgia.   Because I haven’t had any major issues recently, there hasn’t been a real need.  Plus there are other things that I thought were cool enough to write about, because it seemed like a busy week for me.

So, not sure how much people know about FMS, but it’s a chronic debilitating illness, not yet classified as a disease.  Doctors aren’t sure how to diagnose it, so when someone comes in with pain and fatigue issues beyond the standard, that are not responding to arthritis treatments, they do physical tests (pressure points) and blood work to rule out other autoimmune disorders (Lupus, MS, etc).  As I have a family history of MS and Rheumatoid Arthritis, those had to be ruled out first.  Since everything came out negative, and my pressure point test virtually scored extra points for making me cry at the doctor’s office, my diagnoses was FMS.

I write about this today because I normally have a pretty high pain threshold.  I was the kid who played sports throughout my youth, teen, and young adult years.  I’d get injured and learned (by example) to simply “walk it off.”  So, the pain I would feel after an injury in 1995 was something I learned to live with.  However I learned about 8 years later that the pain would become debilitating.  Hence all the doctors I’ve seen in the past 15 years.

Since my diagnosis in February, I’ve done all the paperwork for work (FMLA), and talked to my gym trainers about my workouts, and changed my goals;  I’m still working on some.  I haven’t had a true flare up in as many days (I went over 30 and was quite happy).  Yes, I’d get sore after a workout, but that’s a different kind of sore.

This morning I woke up unable to move.  I knew there was pain while I slept, but I didn’t realize how bad it was until I tried getting up at 7am.  I had to cancel my chiropractor appointment because an adjustment during a flare up is NOT a good idea.  I learned that a while back.  I still planned on going to work.  I went back to sleep for a little bit, actually simply tried to rest my muscles, but that didn’t work.  I called in with a half-day out.

Shortly thereafter I started my stretching routine.  M. is trying to be very supportive, but is also matter-of-fact. He reminds me that I forgot to stretch after I got home from sitting in a stadium seat for over 3 hours, and in my car for over an hour on the drive home.  He’s right.  Even though I stretched earlier during my AM workout, I simply did not as I got home later than anticipated and went right to bed.

All of that combined with the weather changes of the weekend, made the pain virtually unbearable.  I cried while rolling out my thigh muscles (they have special ‘sticks’ for this).  After rolling and stretching, I wanted to check to see if this was indeed a flare up, because it can be masked by normal pain areas that are affected by workouts, etc.  I tried moving my wrists, and that hurt.  My elbows & shoulders hurt.  My ankles popped like popcorn.  That’s when I knew this was not a normal “pain” day.

I say “pain” day because I suffer with pain every single day.  I can usually handle pain that is in a 5-6 range (out of 10) on any given day.  I take a Tylenol (TM), or some ibuprofen, and suck it up.  Today I woke up with 7-8 pain.  When I was rolling it was 10/10 pain.  That’s pretty difficult to deal with.  Right now, I’m sitting here feeling my back scream at me, but I’ve put some BioFreeze (TM) on from my lower back to my knees, and it’s helping a little.  If I’m unable to walk upstairs (it took a good minute holding rails to get downstairs) then it’ll be time for the muscle relaxers.  That’s always a fun time. NOT!

So, today is one of those day that I woke up with such a limited number of spoons, that I had to skip virtually everything.  I’ll be resting, but will have to get out and hit the gym for a rehab workout (as my trainer calls it) later this evening.  I’m hoping that will help.  I do expect some pain tomorrow with the nasty weather continuing.  Until then, I’m going to rest, then later will post my review of the concert I attended last night, which I gave up about 10 spoons to see.

Until then, I’m a Corpse Pose girl.  But I’m open for questions that I can answer at a later date, when I’m mobile.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Fibromyalgia, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pain Threshhold Exceeded

  1. Roz says:

    I just read this! I hope you are feeling better today. I can truly empathize with you, having suffered from psoriatic arthritis for years. Somedays it doesn’t matter what you do, whether you stretch or not–the pain is just going to get you. I know all about the stretching implements. I have a roller myself and it can be a torture device. I will pray for your comfort.

Leave a Reply

