Hi, My Name Is…

I am a self-proclaimed awards show addict! I’m sad to say that this year I have slacked on my annual dose of awards shows.  I watched the Grammy’s, but was somewhat disappointed in the performances and the production in itself, but they are always so unpredictable!  I’m one of those people who like to watch to see what’s going to happen.  I’ve done that ever since the Guns n Roses faux pas during the live telecast of the 1990 American Music Awards.  I wanted to see what was going to happen this time!  Then the networks created the 7 second delay.  It wasn’t so much fun after that, but there are still some funny moments that one would miss if they didn’t watch actors read from teleprompters, and try to be funny when, in all honesty, they really aren’t.

I have slacked this year by missing the Golden Globes, SAG’s, and the People’s Choice awards.  I don’t think I’ve ever missed an Oscar ceremony though.  I always watch the whole thing, and end up regretting it on Monday morning.  I’m not sure which is more fun, watching the awards by myself, which I do most years, or at a party, which I’ve only done a couple of times.   Seems like people don’t like to have a long Sunday night party so soon after the Super Bowl.

So far this year’s Oscar’s are alright.  I’m sure there were better years, and certainly worse years (remember the 1989 Oscars with Rob Lowe & Snow White?)  I’m now going to finish them, to see if they can tailor more to me, as they’ve already had dedications to John Hughes & Horror Movies.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

