Reliving Youth

As a woman in my 30’s I rarely get the opportunity to act like a kid, without really thinking about being an adult.  Today gave me the chance to be 12 again.  My friend Kara had her 30th birthday party, but instead of going bar hopping, or eating at a nice restaurant with friends, she chose to have some fun.  We met at Adventure Racing outside of Queensbury, and had a great time!

I don’t usually go that far north, mainly because I don’t take the time to drive up to Lake George in the summer, or head over to Great Escape when the weather is warmer.  I wanted to really enjoy today.  I was hoping that the arcade they brag about with over 150 games, really had a variety of real arcade games, but unfortunately most of the games were the standard carnival games that one plays to get tickets.  There were a few other video games, but the one’s that were really cool when I was younger, Millipede, Ms.  Pac-Man, Space Invaders, weren’t working properly, so I was bummed.

I was excited to play some laser tag, and ride on go-karts.  I’d never ridden on a go-kart track before, so it was something I really enjoyed.  My boyfriend is a big fan of grand prix racing, and all that fun stuff, so he’s got his head around what needs to be done in what turn, and who has the right of way, blah, blah, blah.  My goal was to get past him at all costs, even if it meant spinning him out or running him into the wall.  Mission accomplished, except I never passed him.  It was still fun!

Laser tag wasn’t like I remembered, and I think it would have been more fun with just us adults acting like kids, but there were a couple of 10 year olds on the course with us, who kicked our butts!  It was still fun! I felt like I was playing old-time cops & robbers.

In the ongoing saga of Flat Audrey, she came along with us and enjoyed a Cookie Monster shaped cake, and had a good time with pizza and basically being a regular kid.  I never thought something like that would be as fun as it was, but I was wrong.  After that, I think we need a real pin ball machine in our basement.  I can get my mad skills back to par, and get some mean points!

Too bad I started feeling like a kid who ate too much candy, and had to come home instead of heading to Kara’s for games and adult beverages.  But that’s what I get for being a kid for 3 hours.  Now I get to be an adult again, but I had those few hours!

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Flat Audrey, Personal, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

