Continuing to Cope

After going to the Media 2010 conference this week, I decided that I would follow the suggestions and try to post something everyday.  My goals tend to start smaller, because they are much more reachable.  It’s hard to blog today because of bad news I got last night.

Received a phone call from my mother last night, and her mom, my grandma, passed away last night.  It’s tough for me because I’m in New York, and the rest of the family is near Oklahoma, where she’s been for the past several years.  My cousin Adam recently moved to the west coast and got married in Hawaii, so he too is far away, but he was lucky due to the Chile earthquake and tsunami warnings, he & his wife flew to Oklahoma for a week, so he was able to see grandma, which is really cool.

I feel really guilty, because my grandma and I communicated on a regular basis when I went to college. She was a big voice of support when I was struggling with grades, and living away from home. I still have several of the letters we sent back and forth. Since then, I haven’t necessarily lost touch, but figured I could see her any time. Losing her, within six months of my dad’s mother, really hit home, because I should have taken time to send her a card, or call on the phone, but there’s always that fear that they won’t remember who you are. I hated that feeling when my other grandmother didn’t remember me the last time I saw her.

So, I have to turn this into something positive and learn from it.  Last night I phoned a friend from Kansas, who now lives in Texas. She’s been having a tough time of things, and recently purchased a house with her fiance. She’s another person that I could have called at anytime, but didn’t.  I also called my cousin, Jaime, and talked with her.  Jaime and her family live in my grandma’s house. We reminisced about our youth, and spending time at the grandparents house with the cousins, playing pool, the Thanksgiving after the fire, and how people used to be and how they turned out. By the end of the call we were both laughing, and that was a nice thing for me.

I decided that I would stay home today and try to keep things in perspective. Some people chose to work to keep their minds off of the bad things. I do that a lot too, but I needed to be able to decompress today.

Unfortunately that means that Flat Audrey and I are hanging out at the house catching up on TiVo, and remembering grandma.  We are still going to the gym to workout later this afternoon/evening, and I know she’s looking forward to my trainer kicking my butt!  With working out, I decided that I wouldn’t miss working out because that’s a health situation, and could potentially make me feel a little better to focus on what I need to do today.

So, as “they” say, bad thing come in three’s. This is officially #3 of big bad things. So, I figure that I’ve got some good coming. If not, I’ll make the good come!

People who read yesterday hoped that I would continue to tell about Flat Audrey’s adventures, which is still the plan. So stay tuned! And if you’re on Facebook, look up “Flat Audrey” and become a fan.  She’s got a page there, and was so excited to hear that she already had some fans last night!  I’ll be talking to her this weekend as well.  I don’t want to be the bad friend, or aunt, by simply not taking time to communicate with my family and friends beyond cyber space.

What have you done to keep your life connected to your loved ones?  Keep a positive eye on them, and everyday they’re in your life be thankful.  I know I am!

In Memory of Lois Olive Hughes. Fabulous mother of four, grandmother of seven, great grandmother of six, and great-great grandmother of three (at least). You lived a full life grandma, and you will be missed!

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Flat Audrey, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

