Self-Absorbed

It seems today may not be the best day to blog, as I’m pissed off, but who knows what will happen with the rest of the day.

I did see an interesting interview between George Stephanopolis(sic) and former NYC Mayor Rudy Guliani. According to Mayor Guliani, there were no domestic attacks on US soil of the terrorist variety. Ok, if that’s his opinion, he’s entitled to it, but it’s based on fact.

Fact: George W. Bush was inaugurated in January 2001.

Fact: George W. Bush was in office until Obama was inaugurated January 2009.

September 11, 2001 nearly 3000 people (mostly Americans) were killed when terrorists crashed two airlines into the World Trade Center buildings in NYC, one small plane into the Pentagon in Washington D.C., and the crash of one jetliner (taken over by the passengers) in Pennsylvania.

I would call that a terrorist attack on US soil.

The reason this was brought up was due to the concern arising from the bomb scare at the Detroit airport recently. No attack took place, but the individual did get through security, and thankfully nothing more happened. Hell, I didn’t even know anything transpired until nearly a week after! I think I was self-absorbed in my own life to even think about “breaking news.”

More to come as I feel like I want to bash on anything else.

About Kari

I live in the Capital Region of NY, work for NYS, and am just beginning to blog. I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, so that's going to take up some content. I've been writing for as long as I can remember, and I am an opinionated person. Thus there will be some items that burn me up, that I simply want to play devil's advocate, or daily/personal items. I also Tweet (@Marilyth) when the mood strikes me in 140 characters or less. I'm doing this for fun, and I hope other appreciate the information and contribute!
This entry was posted in Moody and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Self-Absorbed

  1. Other says:

    You are ignoring the context:
    ““What he [Obama] should be doing is following the right things that Bush did — one of the right things he did was treat this as a war on terror. We had no domestic attacks under Bush. We’ve had one under Obama,””

    He was referring to the time period that is after the start of the War on Terror…which started 9/12/01. Guiliani was accurate.

  2. marilyth says:

    I understand the comment, however I think that the comment is quite vast. Upon hearing about the comment made by Guiliani, I was frustrated. Now that I read the comment itself, it still seems broad, as it does not allow me to put it into the context of 9/12/01. I did not watch the interview in its entirety, so I don’t know whether the comment referred to post 9/11/01, however saying there was an “attack” is not entirely correct. Does he forget the “shoe bomber” during the Bush administration after the “war on terror?”

    I do not/did not support George Bush’s actions while he was in office as US President, nor as Texas Governor (as I lived in Texas during those terms). However, I certainly don’t compare apples to oranges, or claim that he did EVERYTHING wrong, while Obama has done everything right. Which is why I don’t understand why people are up in arms about Obama “not living up to his promises.” I can do research as well, and find areas where Bush didn’t live up to his either, but that’s not a project that I’m going to tackle right now.

    Your point is taken, however I still believe that Guiliani spoke too broadly when he made the comment.

  3. Other says:

    Guiliani misses the attention he received post-9/11.

    He should stay on a Florida golf course reminiscing about the old days.

Leave a Reply

